waste or not

“here’s to all of us finally following through, whether now or months or years from now. as long as we do it: use, not waste, these lives of ours.”

Quote by Slouchy on June 22, 2009, #23 comment for ‘Transplanting, growing and thriving: Some thoughts on Success. In Her Able Hands (http://herablehands.com)
*********************************

That makes me think. Not everyone is going to be famous. How does one use a life? Who gets to decide what that use is? Women have it worse I think. Women, the society says, should have children. Marriage and children. We are supposed to love being pregnant, be useful raising children, be the source of those children’s inspiration. Yet, I’m not a man so maybe there are thoughts that men have about what society expects of them.

I don’t like begin pregnant. I’m a single parent with a single child.  She is an  exceptional human being, but more because she is exceptional than because I am. I do hope I am a little of her inspiration but not quite comfortable in being on a pedestal. All that said, I’m not quite sure if I’ve had a ‘useful’ life. I’m not sure I was meant to.

The buddhist way of looking at life starts with live today in the moment. I’m not aware of every waking or sleeping moment in my life. I don’t quite think anyone can be aware of all moments. Not sure that we are meant to have that kind of memory. So already my life is a waste. Except, I have had an exceptional life up to this point. I have stories to tell and stories to listen to. I try to be kind and to show my beliefs more than stating them. Do I have my own business? nope. Do I have a huge circle of friends? nope; I do have some friends.

I can go around and pick up various yardsticks and fail to reach the heights of each one or I could get my own yardstick and measure myself against it. I choose my own yardstick.  That way I can also decorate it the way I want.

Good thing I’m not a serial killer don’t you think?

Leave a comment